May 2018 Boxycharm Review

Heyy dolls!

Today I have my May Boxycharm box review. I will just get on with it today because my post is a little late and some of my mini reviews are more wordy, lol. šŸ™‚

Contents:

boxycharmmay2018_contents

  • PƜR The Complexion Authority Sculptor Palette

  • CoverFX Blurring Primer

  • Aesthetica Pro Brush Series

  • Aesthetica P12 Face Brush

  • Beauty Creations Long Wear Matte Lipgloss in Sweet Heart

  • Pretty Vulgar The Ink Gel Eyeliner


Aesthetica
Pro Brush Series

boxycharmmay2018_aesthetica_brushseries

Quick Description & Claims:

The Aesthetica Trio Series comes with an Angled Eyeliner Brush, a Brow Spoolie, and a Fine Tipped Eyeliner Brush. A convenient 3 in 1, used for a wide variety of looks, from a subtle wing to dramatic cat-eye. Use the brow brush for fuller, more defined eyebrows.

Mini Product Review:

These are pretty good high quality brushes. It’s always good to have a spare spoolie brush, the angled eyeliner brush is really good too, but I think my favorite brush is the fine tipped eyeliner. I tried it with the gel eyeliner and it was really flexible and good enough to do winged eyeliner.

Cruelty Free? Yes and Vegan!


Aesthetica
P12 Face Brush

boxycharmmay2018_aesthetica_facebrush

Quick Description & Claims:

With synthetic fibers that allow for maximum control, the P12 face brush is perfect for creating a seamless look.

Mini Product Review:

I liked this brush as well, very soft and it’s good quality. It’s good for setting your face/under eyes, as well as for blush.

Cruelty Free? Yes and Vegan!


CoverFX
Blurring Primer

boxycharmmay2018_coverfx

Quick Description & Claims:

A lightweight, soft focus primer that blurs the appearance of pores, fine lines, and other imperfections creating a smooth canvas for flawless foundation application.

Mini Product Review:

I was BLOWN AWAY the first time I used this product! Oh. My. Gossshhh!!! It blurred my pores and it made my face look almost flawless. And I say almost because my face does have a lot of texture, I feel like. But it did an amazing job at creating a nice canvas for my foundation and it looked really good for a few hours. I still haven’t gotten to try it all day, so that will be interesting to see, especially during the summer when it’s so hot outside.

Another thing to mention, it is* a silicon based primer, to me though it doesn’t feel as oily as others I’ve tried in the past. I personally liked it, I hope that it doesn’t make my skin super oily as the weather warms up, but we will see.

Cruelty Free? Yes, and Vegan!


PƜR The Complexion Authority
Sculptor Palette

boxycharmmay2018_pur

Quick Description & Claims:

A four-shade, sculpting palette that features two high-beam highlighters and two matte contour shades that will leave skin sculpted to perfection with highly pigmented and buttery formulas.

Mini Product Review:

I have mixed thoughts on this product. I wasn’t a fan of whatever scent it has. But I loved that the pan size if pretty big. I didn’t like that one of the contour shades (Inventor) pulled a little orange, and when I applied it, it made my face look muddy instead of nice and sculpted. The other shade (Founder) was WAY too dark for my skin tone and it also applied PATCHY!

In warm lighting it looked great but on natural lighting it looked terrible. My face looked less muddy with FounderĀ  than with Inventor, but I think I may have to play a little bit more with this palette and use different techniques and brushes to see if maybe that was the problem.

As for the highlighters, I LOVE them both! They’re both so pigmented and look amazing on the skin. Originator is a nice white champagne shade while Trailblazer is more of a golden highlight. Anyway, they’re both amazing and I think I like them more than the contour shades.

By the way, the contour shades are supposedly UNIVERSALLY FLATTERING on all skin tones, so I really don’t know what went wrong, but I personally don’t feel like the formula is consistent for both of those. They also felt just a little chalky to me and at one point they were hard to blend..

Cruelty Free? Yes!


Pretty Vulgar
The Ink Gel Eyeliner

boxycharmmay2018_prettyvulgar

Quick Description & Claims:

This highly-pigmented gel eyeliner provides quick-drying application with enriched vitamin C to condition the lids. Its creamy and water-resistant formula allows for smooth application that stays in place all day.

Mini Product Review:

I normally use pen eyeliners but this one was so easy to use! And I was amazed at how easy I could create a winged eyeliner. I love the formula, you can go really dark or light with this, and even though I don’t usually like when the formula smudges, I kind of don’t mind with this one because I could make a smokey, winged eyeliner look.

Cruelty Free? Yes!


Beauty Creations
Long Wear Matte Lipgloss in Sweet Heart

boxycharmmay2018_beautycreations

Quick Description & Claims:

Beauty Creations Matte Liquid Lip Gloss is specially formulated to provide full coverage that dries to a seamless, smooth and matte finish. Its lightweight application is long wearing for an effortless lip color that compliments all skin-tones.

Mini Product Review:

This was a product that no one liked. And I’m on the fence about it as well. Firstly, the product name doesn’t make sense. You can’t have a matte lip gloss. So to answer your question, yes, this product is MATTE. It felt sticky to me, even after it completely dried. It didn’t smudge BUT I did notice it transferring when I was drinking water, so it wasn’t water resistant like other formulas I’ve tried.

It’s not really long wear because after a few hours of wear, I noticed it started fading. Not to the point where I had to re-apply but being a “long wear” lipstick, you’d imagine it would stay put and not fade.

I thought the shade was nice, but the formula is missing something. It’s not entirely lightweight, I could still feel it on my lips a little, and I didn’t like the slight stickiness it had.

ALSO, there’s also some confusion with the price: Boxycharm claims it’s $10 BUT on the Beauty Creations site it says $4.99?? If it’s $4.99, that would explain why the formula isn’t as amazing as every one had hoped.

Cruelty Free? Yes.


BOX VALUE:

boxycharmmay2018_contents2

  • PƜR The Complexion Authority Sculptor Palette ā€” MSRP: $30.00

  • CoverFX Blurring Primer ā€” MSRP: $38.00

  • Aesthetica Pro Brush Series ā€” MSRP: $45.00

  • Aesthetica P12 Face Brush ā€” MSRP: $27.00

  • Beauty Creations Long Wear Matte Lipgloss in Sweet Heart ā€” MSRP: $10.00 $4.99

  • Pretty Vulgar The Ink Gel Eyeliner ā€” MSRP: $22.00

Total value of this box: $166.99!!

HOLY SHIT! $167 for this box!! That’s insane!! I did change the price of the lipstick because it doesn’t really cost that much on the site and they weren’t on sale either, so that was a little fishy to me.. But still, this is the highest amount for a box so far!


PRODUCT SWATCHES

boxycharmmay2018_swatches


Did you guys like the products in this month’s box?
If not, do you think you’d ever subscribe?

signature

Find me on social media:

Instagram | Twitter | YouTubeĀ | Pinterest

Subscribe to Boxycharm to get a box with 4 to 5 full size products with a retail value of over $100 for only $21/month! (Referral link!)

Disclosure: this review is a personal opinion and is honest. I do not receive compensation for my reviews. Product(s) was/were purchased by me, unless noted otherwise.

15 thoughts on “May 2018 Boxycharm Review

  1. I really liked the aesthetica brushes and the eyeliner too! I was so-so on the contour palette, I’m not sure that I will use it much. I was so disappointed with the lipstick, I think I’m going to have to bin it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I wasnā€™t as impressed at first because I donā€™t need these kinds of brushes but theyā€™re good quality brushes lol.
      And same, I donā€™t really contour anyway anymore, Iā€™m using more bronzer now a days lol.
      Iā€™ll probably have to toss it as well, I donā€™t think Iā€™ll ever be reaching for it.

      Like

      1. I’ve been using the big face brush for my bronzer a lot latley! I think I will need to gift the contour palette to a friend šŸ¤”
        Are you excited for this months box? Or have you got it yet? I’m super excited for mine to arrive!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I didnā€™t care much for this box either, I did really like the blurring primer but Iā€™ll need to try it out for longer wear and different temperatures and see how it holds up lol.
      The highlighters are soooo gorgeous. I may only use them and nothing else.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay! So happy you ended up liking that CoverFX primer and it wasn’t just one of those ‘hyped up for no reason’ products! Everything about that ‘matte gloss’ is a little fishy lol. & I love how neat your swatches always are!!! The highlighters look so pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was glad I liked it too. I wonder how it will work out for hot weather since it’s a silicon primer.
      And yes, I agree, the formula is a little off, it’s not bad but I would probably buy drugstore liquid lipsticks instead of this.
      And thanks!!! For the first time I actually like how the swatches came out haha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment