Empire Yellow Makeup & Outfit

We are back with more looks from this side project of mine, which I was crazy enough to do in the summer break. πŸ™‚

The good news is, this project is almost over; though that is also a bit sad because I’ve spent a good chunk of the summer doing this. At the same time, it’s exciting because I have a lot of other ideas I’d like to try. The bad news? I have not finished the remaining looks, and I’m running out of time, lol. Classic me! I will* finish, don’t worry. They will not* be late. The projected end date is August 28th, when the final look will be posted, which is also the same day I leave on my vacation. That means I have to finish them this week the latest, because I have to spend next week packing, lol. Wish me luck, I will definitely need it! Let’s get started!


This week’s (second) color;

My heart was happy to see this many yellow products. After creating my Sunburst Yellow MOTD back in 2019, I have been very fond of this color, especially for the summer. Even though certain shades of yellow do not look the best on me, I still like to see this shade. For clothing, I think slightly darker shades like mustard look better on me, but bright shades kind of clash with my skin tone and undertone.

Anyway, this color is too pretty for makeup, and I always love creating yellow looks when I get the chance. Here’s a list of more yellow makeup looks from me right here on the blog in case you might have missed any or would like to see more;


Y’all can thank my husband for the idea for this look. I’ve done this exact* look with green years ago for one of my monthly challenges, but it has been a while. Since I’ve done several yellow looks, I thought doing something different with this color was a good idea. Plus, it required using some liner, and well…I have been wanting to practice…more reason to do it. I added the lightning bolt because this color reminded me of Pikachu. πŸ™‚

Makeup details;

L.O.C.K. It Brow Auto Pencil in 04 Gray Brown | Essence Cosmetics Make Me Brow Eyebrow Gel Mascara | Milani Cosmetics Eyeshadow Primer | NYX Primal Colors in Hot Yellow | HIPDOT x Spongebob Bikini Bottom Eyeshadow Palette, shade: Best Shade Ever| NYX Eyeshadow Base in White | Glisten Cosmetics Wet Liner in Coke Float | Colourpop Uh Huh Honey Palette, shade: Sunburst | City Beauty Beyond Mascara | Physician’s Formula Murumuru Butter Blush in Vintage Rouge | HIPDOT x Spongebob Feelin’ Pineapple Gloss

It’s pretty simple. I brightened the lids with the color itself, and carved out a wing with a white base; which may not have been the best idea as the base I used (NYX) was creamy. I needed something a little more matte, but not bone dry. I should have stuck to the wet liner by itself, but again, it had been a while. I will get it right next time.


For the outfit, the color of the top may not be an exact color match. I do have a yellow cami, but it was a bit too* bright, and I’ve already used two cami’s for other looks and didn’t want to feel like I was recycling some outfits. I really wanted to push myself, so I styled this slightly mustard top with my black bodycon skirt, which I’ve had for years.

In the end, I really like this outfit. This top goes well with anything black. I don’t recall ever wearing it with a skirt before, always jeans, but I’m digging it with this skirt. I think I will add some stockings or over-the-knee high socks for the fall season. I might* just do that πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment