August 2017 Play! by Sephora Review

Hey everyone.

I don’t mean to appear so somber or anything, but hearing about all the devastation all over the world–flooding, earthquakes, fires–it’s been making me feel depressed. Yesterday Alex and I had a chat about how unprepared we are after hearing about Mexico. Thankfully all my family is fine down there, but I couldn’t help and remember that the Pacific Northwest has an overdue earthquake, which could be potentially devastating. Literally all we can do is hope for the higher power to have mercy on all of us and try to be as prepared as we can possibly be.

I’m feeling so many feelings at the moment. It doesn’t help that I’m sick, and the weather is partially gloomy, coupled with hearing about the aftermath of the quake and the hurricane that is passing through PR right now. I hope everyone in PR remains safe!!

Now.. Let’s get on with this review..

Theme: The Innovators

sephoraaugust2017_bag

I thought the theme and the bag design were clever as makeup/skincare is essentially a science. A good mixture of the right products will make a great product. I would love to see how makeup is made someday, perhaps I’ll add that to my bucket list! πŸ™‚

Anyway, as I mentioned in previous months, I’m not a fan of the bag–mainly the material. The material sucks, it’s not soft and I wish it would be. But the theme and bag design is pretty good nonetheless.


Bag Contents:

sephoraaugust2017_contents

  • beautyblender Micro Mini
  • Clinique Dual-Ended High Impact Mascara & Primer Duo
  • Too Faced Mascara Melt Off Cleansing Oil
  • GlamGlow Volcasmic Matte Glow Moisturizer
  • Alterna Haircare Caviar Anti-Aging Miracle Multiplying Volume Mist
  • Kat von D Saint & Sinner Perfume Samples

Note: Clinique Dual-Ended High Impact Mascara & Primer Duo will not be reviewed, I have a few other mascaras I need to use up first.


Beautyblender
Micro Mini

sephoraaugust2017_beautyblender

Quick Description & Claims:

Revolutionary mini makeup applicator sponge for highlighting, contouring, and concealing. Perfectly shaped to reach the smallest part of yours face.

Mini Product Review:

I wasn’t super crazy about this one because it’s just so small. According to the description, it can be used for contouring, but I thought it would be hard to work with and it would take forever since it doesn’t cover much surface area.

Anyway, I ended up using this mini beautyblender for liquid highlight and it worked well. I will probably use it to conceal small spots or under my eyes, or even to set my under eyes. But other than that, I can live without it.


TooFaced
Mascara Melt Off Cleansing Oil

sephoraaugust2017_toofaced

Quick Description & Claims:

Gentle cleansing oil dissolves both regular and waterproof mascara for easy and effective makeup removal. This innovative cleansing oil gently removes even the most stubborn mascara. Plus, the formula is super conditioning and made with antioxidant-rich green tea extract.

Mini Product Review:

Mascara is one of few makeup products I hate to remove because it doesn’t come off thoroughly and will often smudge under my eyes. I don’t use waterproof mascaras, but this cleansing oil helps in removing my mascara quite efficiently and easier. I like that it has conditioning properties for my lashes.

My only concern is bacteria building up since I will be coating my lashes and putting the wand back in. I would assume that you’d have to throw it away after three months (just like mascaras) to avoid getting an eye infection. In that case, I’m not sure it’s totally worth it, and I can certainly live without a product like this, but it’s a nice product nonetheless.


Kat von D
Saint & Sinner Perfume Samples

sephoraaugust2017_kvdperfume

Quick Description & Claims:

This fragrance pair features oneΒ  dreamy, angelic scent and one dark and sultry blend. Saint and Sinner represent the two sides of every woman.

Saint Blend:
Fragrance family: Floral
Top note: Mandarin
Middle note: Jasmine, Tiare Flower
Base note: Musk

Sinner Blend:
Fragrance family: Warm & Spicy
Top note: Orange Blossom
Middle note: Cinnamon
Base note: Patchouli, Vanilla

Mini Product Review:

I’m so sad to say I did not like these perfumes. Neither one pleased my nose. I felt like they smelled like alcohol and I made sure to try them at different days, twice, and still nothing. I hoped to liked Saint more because it’s “angelic” or whatever, but I didn’t feel like that was the best description for it.

Anyway, I will not be using them, I will probably keep them for a future giveaway.


Alterna Haircare
Caviar Anti-Aging Miracle Multiplying Volume Mist

sephoraaugust2017_alterna

Quick Description & Claims:

Lightweight hairstyling mist adds volume and texture to hair while strengthening and softening for full, lustrous, night-out-worthy strands. This ultra nourishing mist disappears into hair, giving it texture and volume while keeping it soft and touchable. The secret is in the Marine Plumping Complex, which contains omega-3s and other ingredients that give limp locks the boost they need.

Mini Product Review:

According to instructions, you spray two to five sprays throughout your clean, towel-dried hair then blow dry. However, I don’t blow dry my hair because it just gets frizzy. So instead I decided to use it on towel-dried hair after a shower and went about my day.

I’m pleased to say that this spray worked on my damp hair, and when my hair finally dried, it was not frizzy. My hair had a nice volume and my wavy hair was more defined and textured. In fact, I wore this on the day we went out to stroll at the waterfront and Portland Saturday Market (see post for a few selfies and my hair), and I was literally hoping that I wouldn’t have a bad hair day as I was walking out the door. To my surprise, it was one of the best hair days I’ve ever had. πŸ™‚


GlamGlow
Volcasmic Matte Glow Moisturizer

sephoraaugust2017_glamglow

Quick Description & Claims:

This deeply hydrating water-pressed cream, infused with volcanic minerals, delivers a unique matte glow–perfect for makeup prep. Not only does this moisturizer contain potent ingredients and patented complexes to deliver deep hydration, but it’s one of the first products in the industry to offer a true matte glow–radiant without being shiny, lit from within without feeling oily.

Mini Product Review:

This was the first pressed-type product that I had ever tried. When I dipped my finger into the pot, it felt a little hard so I had to add a bit more pressure to pick up some product. The moisturizer felt a little thick and I worried that it would be too thick but it went onto my skin sooo smoothly!

I was pleasantly surprised that a small amount practically dissolved into my skin and was enough to cover my entire face. This moisturizer only feels thick when you’re taking it out of the pot, but with the warmth of your finger tips, the moisturizer softens and applies easily!!

This product is AMAZING! I didn’t think it would keep my oily t-zone at bay, but it did! I was so surprised and even more that it still moisturized my skin quite well. I would love to get the full size of this product!


Overall, I’d say this month’s bag was ok. I did have high hopes for the perfume which I didn’t like, I could definitely live without the mini beautyblender and the mascara cleansing oil. The only one I was a huge fan of was the matte glow moisturizer from GlamGlow. Hopefully next month is better!

What did you get on your Play! by Sephora box?

signature

Find me on social media:

Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

Subscribe to Play! by Sephora to get a bag with 5 beauty samples for only $10/month!

Disclosure: this review is a personal opinion and is honest. I do not receive compensation for my reviews. Product(s) was/were purchased by me, unless noted otherwise.

28 thoughts on “August 2017 Play! by Sephora Review

    1. $10 a month, just like ipsy!! 😁 the only thing I hate about this subscription is that they sometimes don’t sent the boxes out until the 20th, so you’d be getting it towards the end of the month.

      Liked by 1 person

          1. I don’t miss birchbox, especially after they changed their points system. I liked their point system because it was better than Ipsy back when I was subscribed. And I also didn’t like constantly getting haircare products that I wasn’t interested in. You could literally just replace BB for Sephora LOL

            Liked by 2 people

          2. Not that I’m aware of, but I’m sure people do that kind of crap. That’s mainly one of the reasons I try to watermark my photos with my name. They might still get stolen though, now a days with photoshop, they can probably take my watermark off.

            Liked by 1 person

  1. I did not care for the mascara oil either, I didn’t even bother trying it out. But I did love the GlamGlow moisturizer too! I was a little eerie with the pressed-texture but oh my wow did it work wonders on the areas of my skin they get oily. I love to use it in the AM before I do makeup and then I apply some primer and it’s amazing because it seizes the oiliness I accrue throughout the day. I’ll be so sad when that little thing is dunzo lol I also didn’t care for the tiny beauty blender its so small I could barely even keep it in my hands when I was trying to blend out concealer lol

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment