January 2018 Play! by Sephora Review

Helloo!

My #BeautiesOnFire collab post was supposed to go up this morning, but there was a delay and Naomi was unable to post the link-up on time, which is fine. So that post will go up tomorrow, I’m very excited to show you guys!

Anyway, I know you’ve seen so many beauty subscription posts from me this week, but I know a lot of people like seeing these posts and I wanted to post this before the month ends since I already received this month’s box.

Let’s get started!


Bag Contents:

sephorajan2018_contents

  • GlamGlow Supercleanse Clearing Cream-to-Foam Cleanser
  • Clinique Pep-Start Eye Cream
  • Anastasia Beverly Hills Lip Gloss in Kristen
  • Smashbox Photo Finish Primerizer
  • Fresh Rose Floral Toner
  • Briogeo Don’t Despair, Repair! Mask * (This Month’s Bonus)

Briogeo
Don’t Despair, Repair! Mask

sephorajan2018_briogeo

Quick Description & Claims:

Don’t Despair, Repair!™ Deep Conditioning Mask works in as little as five minutes to restore essential hydration and natural vibrancy to dry, brittle, over-processed, and otherwise lackluster locks. To protect against future damage, its unique NOVA complex formulation, packed with 95 percent naturally-derived ingredients, delivers an optimal blend of transformative nutrients. They range from B vitamins to rosehip oil, argan oil, collagen, and silk to transform damaged hair into shiny, healthy, lustrous-looking locks.

This product is free of silicones, DEA, and artificial dyes. It is cruelty-free, color-safe, and safe for use on chemically-treated, relaxed, and keratin-treated hair.

Mini Product Review:

“Works in as little as five minutes”. That is the truest thing ever! Guys, the very first time I used it, my hair was immediately softer and smoother and it looked and felt hydrated. This season has been wreaking havoc on my hair so I was pleased that this deep conditioning mask worked so well. And the best thing is that the softness lasted until my next hair wash day (about 2 days later). I highly recommend it!

Cruelty Free? Yes!


Clinique
Pep-Start Eye Cream

sephorajan2018_clinique

Quick Description & Claims:

This lightweight eye cream provides a rush of hydration and instant brightening so you look and feel refreshed, wide awake, and ready for anything in as little as three seconds. Its cool touch and de-puffing tip help keep eyes looking fresh while smoothing the way for makeup. Plus, its peptides help support natural collagen reserves that can be threatened by stress, fatigue, and lack of sleep—the tell-tale signs of your busy life.

Mini Product Review:

So apparently this product is oil free, but Hunida did mention that she felt like it was a bit oily when she applied it. I kind of got the same feeling from it, but it wasn’t extremely noticeable. This eye cream does feel much thicker than ones I’ve tried in the past, but it does actually hydrate the skin somewhat. I didn’t notice “instant brightening”, at least nothing to write home about. It also felt a little tacky as it was sinking into the skin which I didn’t like that much. It’s not the best eye cream but it’s not the worst either.

Cruelty Free? No.


GlamGlow
Supercleanse Clearing Cream-to-Foam Cleanser

sephorajan2018_glamglow

Quick Description & Claims:

Formulated with powerful actives for super-clean, glowing skin, this must-have creamy cleanser transforms into a luxurious foam to blast away impurities and remove pore-clogging debris. The pore refining triple charcoal complex contains three charcoals—coconut, ubame white oak, and gray bamboo—to detox skin, while botanical ingredients like TEAOXI® eucalyptus leaf, licorice root, and cumin seed purify. Skin-refining, powerful AHAs support natural cell turnover and renewal, while K17 and Mediterranean clays absorb oils to mattify skin and restore balance to your complexion. Skin is visibly improved after each cleanse, with a diminished appearance of pores and a refined texture and tone.

Mini Product Review:

I thought it was weird that you had to dispense it onto dry hands, THEN wet and rub it to a foamy lather. I guess it wasn’t that big of a deal. This cleanser felt super smooth against the skin and it felt like it was really purifying my skin. I love that it has three charcoal ingredients (coconut, ubame white oak, and gray bamboo). The only thing I didn’t like as much was the scent of licorice. While it wasn’t extremely bothersome or unpleasant, I simply didn’t like it. I could do without the scent of perhaps a different scent.

All in all, this foaming cleanser works. My skin looks and feels amazing after using it. Only downside is that this brand isn’t truly cruelty-free and I thought it was. 😦

Cruelty Free? No.


Smashbox
Photo Finish Primerizer

sephorajan2018_smashbox

Quick Description & Claims:

Primerizer instantly increases moisture and preps skin for makeup in one step. The non-greasy, quick-dry formula sets in seconds, acting as a makeup magnet that locks on foundation and makes it last. It plumps and moisturizes with niacinamide (which improves skin’s vitality and barrier repair) and hyaluronic acid (a molecule that holds water within the skin to prevent moisture loss). Primerizer also smooths skin, softens dry fine lines, and stops makeup from settling into pores.

Mini Product Review:

This primer truly sets so quick. I didn’t see a difference between using a moisturizer and primer separately versus using this 2-in-1 primer. My skin has been pretty dry so I tend to moisturize before I put on primer anyway. But I didn’t notice anything worth writing about. Perhaps I need to try it for longer but this tiny bottle can only do so much for me.

Cruelty Free? Yes.


Anastasia Beverly Hills
Lip Gloss in Kristen

sephorajan2018_abh

Swatch Notes: Top photo with flash | Bottom photo natural lighting

Quick Description & Claims:

A fully-pigmented, weightless lip gloss formula in lacquer and luster finishes. This ultra-pigmented lip lacquer delivers a mirror-like gloss finish. Its round, flexible applicator ensures precise application.

Mini Product Review:

This lip gloss shade reminded me of the NYX liquid suede in Soft Spoken (except the NYX lippie is matte, but the shades are pretty darn close). This lip gloss is in the shade Kristen which is such a pretty cool desert sand tone, and I kind of got a hint of pinky-brown undertones, but barely. On me it looks a bit natural, like my lips but better–despite how dark the swatches look.

I typically don’t care about lip glosses because they can be sticky, but this formula is surprisingly smooth and not sticky. It’s also pretty pigmented for a lip gloss and the wand is very flexible which was a new thing for me. I ended up liking this lip gloss a lot.

Cruelty Free? Yes.


Fresh
Rose Floral Toner

sephorajan2018_fresh

Quick Description & Claims:

Fresh Rose Floral Toner is a soothing toner that works to clarify the complexion for a dewy look. The cooling, alcohol-free blend is blooming with aromatic rosewater—revered since antiquity for its calming and hydrating benefits. Plus, its mist applicator makes it ideal for setting makeup and refreshing the skin throughout the day.

Mini Product Review:

This was the first time I have ever finished a product from a subscription box before getting reviewed. I really really liked this toner and it couldn’t have come at a better time since I’m running out of my current one. It felt sooo good on the skin. My skin felt hydrated, I didn’t notice any irritation or redness. It felt very soothing and its subtle scent of rosewater was divine.

I was seriously considering on purchasing the full size but I saw the price was $40 for 8oz so I was like “pass”. Also, this brand isn’t cruelty free which was really upsetting! I really liked this toner but I really want to commit to buying cruelty free so I may look into Pixi by Petra’s Rose Tonic because I’ve heard a lot of amazing things.

Cruelty Free? No.


No MOTD since it was mostly all skincare (which I truly appreciated). This box was okay, I did like a few products but I was disappointed to find out that some of my favorite products weren’t cruelty free so I can’t purchase the full sizes.

How about you guys? Did you like your box?

signature

Find me on social media:

Instagram | Twitter | YouTube | Pinterest

Subscribe to Play! by Sephora to get a bag with 5 beauty samples for only $10/month!

Disclosure: this review is a personal opinion and is honest. I do not receive compensation for my reviews. Product(s) was/were purchased by me, unless noted otherwise.

16 thoughts on “January 2018 Play! by Sephora Review

  1. I would love to try that hair mask!! I’m glad it worked so well for you! I feel like my eye cream was melted or something lol mine didn’t seem thick at all? Weird.
    We both had the same thoughts on the Glamglow cleanser. I liked the primer but it was getting difficult to get it out of the bottle. I never used primer before so I just stopped using it, lol.
    I love the color of that lipgloss!! & I did end up using that toner once. I felt very nice & refreshing but I just can’t be bothered to do that everyday. 😛 I’m too lazy LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Their products never disappoint!! 🙂 I might buy the full size hair masks, depending on price of course LOL
      Who knows, but no product works the same for two people, especially if skin types are different. Yeah, didn’t like the smell of licorice lol.
      OMG I KNOW! Stupid annoying tiny bottle!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t think I’ve tried anything by them before… at least nothing I can think of right now. It’s true. It’s crazy how different everything works different people. I can’t believe people like the smell and/or taste of black licorice. YUCK!
        and YES LOL. I’m glad i’m not the only one who couldn’t get the rest of the stuff out of that small stinkin bottle!

        Liked by 2 people

        1. really? I have been looking for a toner and I have yet to see that brand at my nearest drugstore. maybe i’ll try walgreens, they have lots of skincare there too.
          thanks love, have a great weekend yourself!

          Liked by 1 person

  2. These all look really cool! I was supposed to get a couple of these products and really wanted to try the Primerizer and Fresh Rose Toner, but unfortunately my box was lost in the mail and Sephora would only give me a refund 😦 I’ve considered buying the rose toner, but I can’t justify that price tag, especially on a blind buy. However I do love the Mario Badescu rosewater spray and it’s cruelty free!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I liked the majority of the products. But you’re right, the toner is just way too expensive. And that really sucks!! 😦 but at least you got refunded. And I keep forgetting about mario badescu products!! Thanks for the reminder. I’ll have to look at ulta and see what other stuff they have.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment